10 Returning TV Shows

14463903_1290341787643302_1562299076_n
Courtesy of livemontreal via Instagram

So my favorite season is upon us and everyone is excited about boots, jackets, not having your makeup melt in the sun and watching the leaves change. It’s absolute bliss. One of my favorite part of this new season are all the prime-time shows that are coming back. I was a Film and Communications major in college so I love me some new TV! I actually always have…since I was a child tbh. TV truly is my passion. So to share my passion with you all, here are ten shows whose return I am excited about this fall. Now they are not in any particular order but you can definitely tell which ones I’m excited for. 

1. The Walking Dead

Season 7 premiers Sunday, October 23 on AMC

Now to all The Walking Dead comic book readers, we all know who Negan (Jefferey Dean Morgan) kills. To be perfectly honest, watching The Walking Dead season 7 Comic-Con panel was the biggest waste of time ever seeing as all of their responses were vague ramblings of ‘how good the new season is going to be’ seeing as they can’t spoil who is going to die at the vengeance of Negan’s barbed bat. We know good and well they aren’t going to kill off Rick (Andrew Lincoln). I don’t think Negan is as heartless as to kill a pregnant Maggie (Lauren Cohan) or One-Eyed Carl (Chandler Riggs). Also, what’s gonna happen with the Alexandrians? Whattup with the tiger in the season 7 trailer? Honestly, season 6’s cliffhanger left me with no spoilers or any new information. To the comic book readers….do you think you-know-who dies?

2. The Flash

Image result for the flash season 3

Season 4 premiers Tuesday, October 4 on the CW

One word, Flashpoint. Now I am not a huge fan of Superhero comics but tell me a good enough story on screen and I just might need to jump on the bandwagon, or at least do some extensive research, which is what I did so thank you YouTube. When the season wrapped in May the first words to come out of my mouth were, “OH MY GOD, You idiot!” Yea, cool you saved your mom from being murdered by the Reverse Flash after you just witnessed Zoom take your own father from you in the exact same spot in the present timeline and the love of your life FINALLY tells you she wants to be with you. I get it.  immediately assumed that since he’s gone back in time, he would’ve never lived with Iris and Joe, but would he become a CSI? He would’ve never gotten struck by lightning on the night of the particle accelerator explosion making him The Flash…*GASPS* what would happen in the Arrow-verse?!?! The next day fan reactions were all like “FLASHPOINT”.

Thanks to Comic-Con we (mainly I) know that Flashpoint is the alternate timeline Barry Allen aka The Flash (Grant Gustin) creates when he goes back in time to save his mother from being killed by the Reverse Flash aka Eobard Thawne (Matt Letscher). According to an intervie with Clever News Grant Gustin lets us know that the effects of Flashpoint will only last an episode but come on, tell me you guys aren’t excited to see Cisco Ramone (Carlos Valdes) as the richest man in the world and simultaneously give a sassy “MMhmm” to Barry’s reaction to Iris (Candice Patton) not knowing who the hell he is. We also know that Barry is still a speedster in this new timeline but the longer he’s in it, the more his old memories are replaced by the memories of the new timeline. But on the bright side, Kid Flash and Draco-freakin-Malfoy amirite?!

3. Once Upon A Time

Season 6 Premiers Sunday, September 25 on ABC

So I have to be honest. I stopped watching Once Upon A Time in the middle of Season 5 episode 3. The new story line of good girl gone bad seemed a little redundant and original characters were taken out of their true form. Rumpelstiltskin (Robert Carlyle) was brilliant as the Dark One, battling his love for his magic and his love for Belle. Emma’s (Jennifer Morrison) gung hoe bad-guy fighting was becoming more refreshing than annoying and Lana Parilla’s redemption of the Evil Queen/Regina is one of the best character developments I’ve seen in a very long time.

However, I am excited to find out that they are exploring new themes and lore such as the Aladdin and Jafar story line that I have been DYING for ever since Hook (Colin O’Donoghue) came into our lives. Now, because I am currently catching up on season 5 I have no idea what’s going on beyond the Camelot storyline. All I know is that Regina needs to send her petty ass sister off somewhere so she can finally be happy with her man!

4. Modern Family

Season 8 premiered Wednesday, September 21 on ABC

Anyone who knows me knows that I am a sucker for a sitcom with an amazing ensemble cast. (I.E. Friends, How I Met Your Mother, The Big Bang Theory etc.) Picking up right where they left off, the Pritchett-Dunphy-Tucker clan are back at it again portraying their mockumentary style modern family. Unfortunately, Andy (Adam Devine) and Haley (Sarah Hyland) broke up and Mitchell (James Tyler Ferguson) inadvertently killed Cam’s (Eric Stonestreet) grandmother who refers to him as Sissy. The Dunphy’s are in my favorite place on Earth, New York City and lie to each other both about staying in NYC for nearly an extra week. Gloria’s (Sofia Vergara) rightfully vengeful sister Sonia (Stephanie Beatrice) kidnaps Manny (Rico Rodriguez) but it all comes together in the end because it’s only a 22min show with about 9 main characters and we ain’t got the time to dissect all that petty.

5. The Vampire Diaries

Season 8 premieres Friday, October 21 on the CW

TVD is returning for a FINAL season and I really didn’t think I’d miss Elena (Nina Dobrev) all that much. Between seasons 1-6 it basically felt like the entire premise of the show was to save Elena’s life and Bonnie (Kat Graham) always paying the biggest price for it. For example, her mom gets turned into a vampire to stop the Original witch’s spell, she loses her Grams doing a difficult spell to open a tomb they had no business opening and she dies bringing her brother Jeremy (Steven R. McQueen) back to life. Which I must admit was the dumbest thing she could do but it all worked out?

Anywho, according to their 2016 Comic Con panel this will be their final season which will include a magic-less Bonnie, a deranged Damon (Ian Somerhalder) and Enzo (Michael Malarky) are on the loose and a Steraline wedding? TVD showrunner Julie Plec states that this season’s villain will be the worst in TVD history referring to it as “Evil herself”. She also states that she wants to use as little magic as possible to get out of their supernatural issues. Also Nina Dobrev’s return is in progress for the finale season.

6. New Girl

Season 6 premiered Tuesday, September 20 on FOX

To be perfectly honest…I haven’t finished season 5 of New Girl, alongside Once Upon A Time I’ve got some serious binge watching to do.  I do know that Jess (Zooey Deschanel) was briefly replaced by Megan Fox and Schmidt (Max Greenfield) and Cece (Hannah Simone) made it down the aisle in season 5. I just can’t wait to catch up because I’ve been team Cece and Schmidt for YEARS and will probably cry once I see their wedding episode.

7. Brooklyn Nine-Nine

Season 4 premiered Tuesday, September 20 on FOX

Probably one of my favorite comedies right now Brooklyn Nine-Nine left off with Jake (Andy Samberg) and Captain Raymond Holt (Andre Braugher) in the witness protection program because of Figgis who was initially after Adrian Pamento (Jason Mantzoukas) who is probably one of the biggest non factors in Nine-Nine history but he got us the season 4 story line which we should only semi riot-tweet about. I think I speak for everyone when I say we are all ready for them to be back in NYC and Jake can finally get rid of those frosted tips and move in with Amy (Melissa Fumero). Also what I’m waiting for is Terry’s (Terry Crews) love for yogurt, Rosa’s (Stephanie Beatriz) bad-assery and Charles’s (Joe Lo Truglio) upmost loyalty. Hopefully season 4 will bring us more laughs, more arrests and more of the Pontiac Bandit.

8. Jane The Virgin

Image result for jane the virgin season 3

Season 3 premiers Monday, October 17 on the CW

So let’s catch up. Season 3 left off with more cliff hangers than one can handle. Sin Rostro (Bridget Regan) has been alive the entire time and framed the crap out of Mutter (Elida DI Nola) which turns out was Rafael’s (Justin Baldoni) mother. Rafael however is also dealing with the fact that he has 3 infant children and is in love with the mother of his son Jane (Gina Rodriguez) who unfortunately (to me) married Michael (Brett Dier). Honestly I don’t understand how he can run a hotel with three infant babies, family drama and a broken heart. But that’s not all. See since Jane married Michael, devastated as he is Raf slept with his ex-wife/mother of twin girls, Petra (Yael Grobglas). Turns out that it was actually Petra’s twin sister Anezka (also Yael Groglas) who gave her some type of drug that turned Petra into vegetable. Xiomara (Andrea Navedo) is pregnant and there’s a very good chance that it belongs to her ex-boo thang/baby daddy’s nemesis Esteban Santiago (Keller Wortham), even though she broke up with Rogelio (Jamie Camil) specifically because she didn’t want any more children.

See now with all this tea and Eva Longoria doing some directing I don’t need to explain why I am STOKED about season 3.

9. Black-ish

Season 3 premiered Wednesday, September 21 on ABC

 

I honest to god didn’t think the show would last this long but seeing how season 2 played out and the different ways they tackled different issues in black culture really turned that thought around. Don’t get me wrong, I always thought it was a good show but was always skeptical of how long it would last. Honestly another great ensemble cast.

Can’t wait to see Bow (Tracee Ellis Ross) handle being pregnant with her 5th child, raising the other 4 while still being a doctor #BlackGirlMagic. Also excited to see Diane’s (Marsai Martin) sass, Junior’s (Marcus Scribner) idiocrasy and Ruby’s (Jennifer Lewis) rachetness.

10. The Mindy Project

Image result for the mindy project season 5

Season 5 premieres Tuesday, October 4 on Hulu

So, after a full season of barely seeing Danny Castellano (Chirs Messina), he is featured heavily in season 4’s finale. As we all know that Mindy (Mindy Kaling) and Danny were trapped in their son Leo’s school elevator overnight and things got heated and Danny cheated on his fiancé to which Danny accidentally invited Mindy to. Why you had to mess up a good thing dude! Jody (Garret Dillahunt) on the other hand is so rich and smitten that he was able to renovate Mindy’s apartment as well as BUY the apartment above it…in New York City. I call that a win. His money irrelevant to the plot but it is indeed…goals.

Hopefully season 5 will have some of that awesomely insane quirkiness and pop culture references as well as a juicy love triangle and more of baby Leo.

 

So those are all the shows that are RETURNING that I’m pumped for this season. If you want comment below for some TV shows you are excited about as well as some suggestions for new TV shows that are premiering as well. I do plan on posting another post on Brand New series that I am excited for so be on the lookout!


Leave a comment